What Is the Hindu belief about the life cycle of the world?


According to Hindu religious thought, the life cycle of this world is divided into four definite eras, or yugs. It is believed that when mankind was created it was totally pure. With time life degenerated. This degeneration can be seen in the four eras.

The first era, Satyayug or Krityug, was the golden age during which all the gods lived. It lasted 4,800 divine years or 1,728,000 human years.

The second era, Tretayug, was the silver age during which incarnations came to this world and rid it of evil people. Parshuram and Ram were born in this period. This lasted 3,600 divine years, or 1,296,000 human years.

The third era, Dvaparyug, was the copper age when the later incarnations and religious leaders lived. This lasted 2,400 divine years, or 864,000 human years.

The fourth era, Kalyug, is the iron age, or the era of the machine. In this era mankind has degenerated very rapidly, as can be evidenced in everyday life. This era is said to have started in the year 3,102 B.C. Lesser incarnations and religious leaders have influenced mankind. It is expected to last 1,200 divine years or 432,000 human years.

Just as there is much sin and degeneration in this era, it is equally possible to attain God- realization. One just needs to remember Him in whatever way is suitable. This is what the average householder needs to know and follow. God can be realized.

At the end of this era the world will come to an end. There will be a new beginning. Then there will be a new cycle of four eras - beginning with the golden age.

Think it over

Let noble thoughts come to us from all directions. 

Do you have any questions?

Watch Now